FFYR Weekend in Paradise

Last weekend, the Florida Federation of Young Republicans Annual Convention was held in Palm Beach.  The host club, Palm Beach County Young Republicans, truly made the event a Weekend in Paradise.  The historic Colony Hotel was wonderful and as always it was awesome to collaborate with YRs from across the state.

Here are some convention highlights:

We learned a lot about organizing and messaging from Rob Arnakis from the Leadership Institute.  Fmr. Majority Leader Adam Hasner spoke to us about his upcoming race for CD-22 and the urgency of the pivotal youth vote this year.  US Senate candidates Dave Weldon and George LeMieux discussed their races and participated in our straw poll.

Conservative radio legend Neal Boortz headlined our Saturday Night dinner and spoke about cultural and political issues.

Straw Poll Results: George LeMieux (70%), Connie Mack IV (19%), Dave Weldon (9%), Mike McCalister (1%), Marielena Stuart (1%)

The FFYR chapter regions were reorganized.  Our region remained intact with one addition.  Region 8 will become the new Region 12, to include Palm Beach, Broward, Miami Dade and Monroe Counties.  We applaud the decision to keep the Big 3 South Florida counties together and look forward to working with our neighbors the Palm Beach YRs and Miami YRs to engage and mobilize voters for GOP victory.

Your newly elected 2012-2013 FFYR Board:

Chairman Peret Pass
Vice Chairman Dan Ruoss
Secretary Bryan Tupper
Treasurer Josh Cockrell
National Committeeman Cameron Coward
National Committeewoman Carmen Myers
Asst Secretary David Baldauff
Asst Treasurer Kelly Phelan

Congrats to our 2012 Award Winners!

Large Club of the Year: Biscayne Bay Young Republicans
Small Club of the Year: Pinellas Young Republicans
Outstanding Club Newsletter: Palm Beach Young Republicans
Outstanding Club Event: Seminole County Young Republicans
Outstanding Club Website: Southwest FL Young Republicans
Socialite Award: Broward Young Republicans
Outstanding Charitable/Community Service Event: St. Johns County Young Republicans
Young Republican Woman of the Year: Sarah Gerber
Young Republican Man of the Year: Bradley Gerber
Club of the Year: Jacksonville Young Republicans


Paid political advertisement by Broward County Young Republicans. Not approved by any campaign or committee.